INTA Trademark Awardees Named

NEW YORK, NY The International Trademark Association (INTA) today announces its annual President’s and Volunteer Service Awards winners. These awards honor the individual achievements of trademark owners and practitioners during the past year.

To read more about the contributions of this year’s winners, please visit

  • The President’s Award is given to the most distinguished and deserving INTA volunteer for a career dedicated to trademarks and intellectual property protection and advancement. The winner of the 2009 President’s Award is Jerre B. Swann of Kilpatrick Stockton LLP.
  • The award for the Advancement of Trademark Law is presented to individuals whose participation and efforts during the year have led to the advancement of substantive trademark law and practice. This year’s winners are Marion Heathcote of Davies Collison Cave and Adam Scoville of RE\MAX International Inc.
  • The award for the Advancement of Committee or Subcommittee Objectives is given to individuals whose initiative and creative thinking have led to significant IP policy developments. This year’s winners are Mary Beth Besler of Lewis and Roca LLP and Glenn A. Gundersen of Dechert LLP.
  • The award for the Advancement of the Association is presented to those who have most notably advanced the objectives of INTA. This year’s four winners are Peter W. Becker of Microsoft Corporation, Karina Dimidjian-Lecomte of Casalonga Avocats, Kelly McCarthy of Sideman and Bancroft and Iris V. Quadrio of Marval O’Farrell and Mairal.


  • Garland Pollard

    J. Garland Pollard IV is editor/publisher of BrandlandUSA. Since 2006, the website has chronicled the history and business of America’s great brands.